Menu UF Health Home Menu
 

Interdisciplinary Family Health

Interdisciplinary Family Health (IFH) emerged in 1999 from a grassroots effort of a small group of faculty and students from the Colleges of Medicine, Pharmacy, and Nursing. Working with a small grant from the Pew Foundation and subsequent grants from the Community-Campus Partnerships for Health and the Arnold Gold Foundation, several pilot programs were developed that included 27 students and 9 faculty from the three colleges, in a course originally known as Keeping Families Healthy. In 2000 a large grant from the Merck Foundation allowed expansion to all first-year students in the three colleges, and the program received institutional support and a name change to IFH, adding additional students from the Colleges of Dentistry and Public Health and Health Professions.  The University of Florida Area Health Education Center has supported the program since its inception and has contributed greatly to our success.

The course is constructed around the shared mission of collaborative training, discussion meetings and home visits with volunteer community families. The program’s initial learning objectives were focused on core curriculum areas that exist in most healthcare disciplines: interviewing skills, family systems, access to health care, community resources, and preventive medicine. Expansion of the course allowed the introduction to content areas such as teamwork and teambuilding, cultural issues in health care and patient safety. The course in 2011-12 includes 617 students, 125 faculty and over 210 local volunteer families and lasts one academic year. A history of the course and the Office can be found here (Academic Medicine Vol 80 No 4 April 2005).

The POST:  The Dream Team -
The Interdisciplinary Health Course, one example of how UF is training health science students to work together… http://post.health.ufl.edu/the-post-february-2011/

COM Insider:  College of Medicine students, faculty and staff give back – http://news.medinfo.ufl.edu/articles/staff/college-of-medicine-students-faculty-and-staff-give-back/

IFH Core Faculty:

BlueAmy-FamMed-220x234[1]

Amy V. Blue, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for
Interprofessional Education
amy.blue@phhp.ufl.edu

 

College of Medicine:

Hagen_Melanie2011-e1334859300863

Melanie Hagen, MD, FACP
265-0651
melhagen@ufl.edu

 

College of Dentistry: 


Micaela Gibbs, DDS
273-6801
mgibbs@dental.ufl.edu


Gail Childs, RDH, MPH
273-5952
GCHILDS@dental.ufl.edu

 

College of Nursing:


Sharon Bradley, MSN, RN
273-6423
sbradley@ufl.edu


College of Pharmacy:

Doty
Randall Doty, PharmD
273-6229
doty@cop.ufl.edu
College of Health Professions:

Clinical and Health Psychology:

boggs-254x300

Stephen R. Boggs, PhD, ABPP
273-6146
sboggs@phhp.ufl.edu


Physical Therapy:


Gwen Creel, MHS, PT, NCS
273-6114
gcreel@phhp.ufl.edu


IFAS/College of Agritural and Life Sciences
Family, Youth and Community Science Food Science and Human Nutrition


Karla Shelnutt, PhD, RD
273-3535
kpagan@ufl.edu

 

College of Veterinary Medicine

Large and small animal hospital shots for PR display at Gainesville Airport

Amara Estrada, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM
294-4438
estradaa@ufl.edu

Interdisciplinary Family Health Team:

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and
Educational Technology


Eric Black, PhD
273-5322
ewblack@ufl.edu


Assistant Director, IFH

Gina Murray, NCC, LMHC
Gina Murray, NCC, LMHC
273-5320
ginag@ufl.edu

Educational Coordinator

Cindy Wielgos
Cindy Wielgos, MS
273-5323
wielgos@ufl.edu


Course Program Assistant/Web Design

DJ Brunson
D.J. Brunson
273-5322
dbrunson@ufl.edu